Thoughts
Leave a Comment

Breakfast At Tiffany’s Book Review

applemeekofeedthemind

I was on my usual trip to the local library using my usual tactic of wandering aimlessly around the aisles looking at only the design or book titles from their spines. Superficial? Maybe, but it’s easier for me that way. On this particular trip I spotted a cute pink thin spine. Thin spine means short book I can just tote around in my handbag for those ‘waiting’ times.

9780241951453

I’ve heard all too much about this particular title. It’s a classic, or so people say. But just because it’s dated doesn’t mean it is classic in my eyes. Once I commenced reading I had the idea that the narrator wasn’t the girl I had so often seen as Audrey Hepburn’s character but was it male or female? For a good 10 pages I had actually thought the narrator was female! And little did I know HE wasn’t.

lucky-bunny-book_swbmdm0mdkznty3nw

The storyline follows an outsiders perspective on Holly Golightly, a glorified icon but beautiful mess of a girl trying to find herself and her place in the world. Her character reminded me so much of Queenie in Lucky Bunny by Jill Dawson. The story a girl who loved all luxurious things in life (stealing those things included). Due to her odd start in life she had some sort of love/self-image/priority complex and eventually fell pregnant to a useless man. Lucky Bunny was able to build a character for me to understand and root for, although I can understand the restrictions on character development in such a short novel as Breakfast at Tiffany’s.

What I admired about Queenie was that I saw her striving for some sort of independence despite the ambiguity that clouded her life but Holly? She’s glamorous sure but she’s a mess of a character to understand in my eyes because I don’t see any association between the character and myself except for her longing for her own place in the world.

Where was the story leading to? I’m a person who desires closure and I had no hint of it at the start neither the middle or even nearing the end. Surely the story offered more than Holly making rich men fall in love with her, getting with her downstairs neighbour and then her fake ex-BFF’s fiance. Upon finishing the novel the ending was as I suspected, no closure. Just a flash of light and then the final word.

I wanted to love the novel so much probably due to the romanticism built up by the movie stills of the beautiful Audrey Hepburn but unfortunately it bored me. Contrary to the opinion of Alex James from Guardian on the cover, I do no think this was the most romantic story ever written.

Rating 4.5/10

Please like/share if this post was helpful to you!

This entry was posted in: Thoughts
Tagged with: ,

by

I'm a Marketing professional by day, blogger by night and a beauty lover 24/7. My perfect day would consist of taking my sweet time putting on makeup, bargain hunting at secondhand markets, trying new cuisines and feeding stray kitties.

What do you think?

