Skincare
Comments 2

Review: Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water & How Micellar Water Works

applemeekomybeautyexperience

Micellar Water has been one the biggest trend in beauty products as of late. But water that cleans your makeup off? Pfft what is this sorcery you’re talking about!

What is Micellar Water and how on earth can it cleanse off grimey makeup?

I had previously thought micellar water was just some kind of toner but my curiosity about this new product finally tipped beyond a containable point and I HAD to know what it was.

From my online research I found out that the clear liquid is a magical fragical liquid which contains something that looks like a tadpole in that it has a head and a tail (the head part likes water and the tail part likes oils). The tail parts are neatly stowed away into a sphere of oil with the water loving heads at the surface. Since the surface of these little balls are all covered in water loving heads they don’t separate as normal oil and water would.

It’s very important to use cotton pads when using micellar water as the water loving heads will then attach themselves to the cotton pad leaving the magical oil loving tails on the surface to remove makeup.

Now moving on from the magical science and onto practice!

Garnier micellar cleansing water RRP~$12

applemeeko-garniermicellarwater1

The night I bought the product I wasn’t too sure of it’s cleansing capabilities quite yet so I used makeup removal wipes to remove my makeup and then tried this as the second step. The cotton pad didn’t show much makeup residue while using the cleansing water probably because I hadn’t been wearing much makeup that day.

The only thing I could tell from that night was that the water didn’t leave much icky residue at all on my skin like the stuff in remover wipes.

applemeeko-garniermicellarwater2

To test out the micellar cleansers makeup removal capabilities I grabbed some of the usual stuff I’d put on my face and swatched them on the back of my hand to simulate how well they’d be removed.

applemeeko-garniermicellarwater3

I splashed a cotton pad with the cleansing water and patted it on the swatch to soak for about 10 seconds.

When I patted the back of the soaked cotton pad you can see that there were some bubbles that formed.

applemeeko-garniermicellarwater4

One gentle yet firm swipe removed most of the foundation, lipstick and liquid eyeliner however it still had a little trouble with the pencil liner. The remaining residue from the swatches was then easily removed with a few circular wipes with the same soaked cotton pad.

From using this cleanser as part of a 2 step makeup removal routine and the swatches above I am quite surprised at the power of something so gentle. Whenever I see the words “Gentle” when purchasing my eye and lip makeup removers I shy away because they don’t seem to work for me at all.

Also if you’d like to know, I had a little taste of it too. No I don’t do this often with my products but I really dislike the weird salty taste of makeup removers when I take off my lipstick at the end of the night. The result is *drumroll* TASTELESS!

I give the Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water a 7.5/10 as it doesn’t remove makeup off as much as some other traditional removers I’ve tried. However taking into account the fact that it is so gentle, fragrance and taste free the cleansing results are surprising great. My stigma against gentle makeup removers will still remain however this cleanser might be an exception.

Have you tried this magical liquid?

Please like/share/comment if this post was helpful to you!

This entry was posted in: Skincare
Tagged with: ,

by

I'm a Marketing professional by day, blogger by night and a beauty lover 24/7. My perfect day would consist of taking my sweet time putting on makeup, bargain hunting at secondhand markets, trying new cuisines and feeding stray kitties.

2 Comments

  1. Great review!! I think I might have to try this out! I’ve been looking for a cleansing water that isn’t too pricey, so this sounds great! 🙂

    Like

What do you think?

