Travel
Leave a Comment

Sculptures By The Sea 2014 (Bondi, Sydney)

applemeekotraveltheworld

Sculpture by the Sea – Bondi to Tamarama coastal walk, Sydney
Free entry

Sculpture by the Sea is a kind of outdoor exhibition of many different works from artists around the world placed on stretch of some of the most beautiful beaches in Sydney. Entry is free to the event and it makes a great day to admire the sculptures installed along with a breathtaking backdrop. It was great to come to get a little exercise done in the salty air and hot sun because the views helped distract you from the soreness in your muscles.

I’m no connoisseur of art in any form but I feel it’s the truth that art is able to invoke emotions in people. My ideal about art is that it creates connections in my mind and makes me think or reflect on my own life and the world that I can see around me.

applemeeko-bondibeach-sculpturebythesea

applemeeko-bondibeach-sculpturebythesea

applemeeko-bondibeach-sculpturebythesea

applemeeko-bondibeach-sculpturebythesea

To get to the exhibition we started from the very beginning of Bondi Beach. We walked past the young sun-kissed fit people whose only business seemed to be doing hand stands and showing off their body. Past the fit (yet again) and at times unfit people in their swimmers sunbathing, out in the ocean, jogging with their dogs or playing Beach Volleyball. And finally, past the mural artists and chill kite flyers.

Yeah haha. Bondi just seems to have a lot of fun and/or fit things happening on a regular basis.

applemeeko-bondibeach-sculpturebythesea

When looking for a public event there’s a no-fail way to find it. Just follow the people. Yep! Just follow the large horde of people all going to one place and for this event my general rule of thumb was spot on. However there was downside to this because these people were like human arrows pointing us to the way, they were also filling the walkways. I know, I know. I was supposed to be enjoying the art and I did until we all became sardines without a way to even see the sculptures without obstruction or even take pictures of them.

applemeeko-bondibeach-sculpturebythesea

applemeeko-bondibeach-sculpturebythesea

applemeeko-bondibeach-sculpturebythesea

applemeeko-bondibeach-sculpturebythesea

Us sardines.

applemeeko-bondibeach-sculpturebythesea

As we walked on it became even more apparent to me how much I didn’t understand art because I didn’t feel much towards many of the sculptures. Those feelings of emotion just weren’t there. I can only say for certain that two pieces of work got me thinking. One was the beached sea creatures made from plastic bottle caps shown below as it made sense to me. The animals in the sea might as well be made of plastic with the amount of rubbish they are surrounded by and consume accidentally too.

applemeeko-bondibeach-sculpturebythesea

Such deep thoughts about wildlife were interrupted comically by bronzed butts at the top of a hill. Yep. Bums. Train of sentimental thoughts broken. Booty.

applemeeko-bondibeach-sculpturebythesea

applemeeko-bondibeach-sculpturebythesea

*poke poke*
The bronzed naked babies kind of freaked me out to be honest. Could that be considered an emotion?

applemeeko-bondibeach-sculpturebythesea

applemeeko-bondibeach-sculpturebythesea

There was so much tetanus potential on this mattress spring fortress. Is hypochondria an emotion too?

applemeeko-bondibeach-sculpturebythesea

applemeeko-bondibeach-sculpturebythesea

applemeeko-bondibeach-sculpturebythesea

Behind the child towers I saw something that invoked another emotion. Hunger! Haha, turns out The Grounds of Alexandria (which I have been dying to try) had a pop up store to feed the hungry masses. Just like the actual store and the cliff side walkways along the exhibition, the line up was seriously something else so I didn’t get to try it out (once again).

applemeeko-bondibeach-sculpturebythesea

applemeeko-bondibeach-sculpturebythesea

applemeeko-bondibeach-sculpturebythesea

applemeeko-bondibeach-sculpturebythesea

applemeeko-bondibeach-sculpturebythesea

applemeeko-bondibeach-sculpturebythesea

applemeeko-bondibeach-sculpturebythesea

applemeeko-bondibeach-sculpturebythesea

applemeeko-bondibeach-sculpturebythesea

applemeeko-bondibeach-sculpturebytheseaAs I mentioned before, there were only two installations that really spoke to me. One was the plastic sea life while this was the other one. It was an installation with a number of metal pans engraved with the names of various glaciers holding water but covered with a plastic sheet on top. I thought it was very interesting and clever to show the evaporation of water from the “glaciers” due to the heat and it’s entrapment under a foreign-made barrier especially dramatised because it was an incredibly hot day that day.

Now that I think about it I have a pattern in the type of emotions of mine that can be toyed with – things to do with the environment. What a hippie.

Please like/share/comment if you enjoyed this post.

This entry was posted in: Travel

by

I'm a Marketing professional by day, blogger by night and a beauty lover 24/7. My perfect day would consist of taking my sweet time putting on makeup, bargain hunting at secondhand markets, trying new cuisines and feeding stray kitties.

What do you think?

