Makeup
Comments 6

My Favourite Every Day Makeup Products for 2014

applemeekomybeautyexperience

It should be anyones beauty and makeup philosophy to focus on looking like a better version of yourself whenever you feel like it. 🙂 For those days I feel like looking like that better version of myself I use certain products that I’ve collected over the years and continue to replace over and over again.

Below are the products that I have been using religiously and have or will repurchase again. They are my most used products that I consider to be the best at working with my skin type, colour and needs and hopefully those viewing this post can enjoy the products as much as I do!

BYS Brown Brow Liner – Contrary to popular Instagram makeup posts, I do not consider my eyebrows to be high up on my checklist to complete my overall look. Don’t get me wrong. Nice eyebrows, or ones ‘on fleek’ as most hip people would say, can definitely complete a look but if I accidentally forgot to fill them in I wouldn’t fret too much. I think I can attribute this to my dense and naturally shaped eyebrow hairs. Yes I am bragging a bit! When I was born the nurses commented on my nicely shaped brows.

For the times when I do want a sharper look I use BYS Brow Liner which is very inexpensive and with the help of a spooley, can lightly or darkly shade in my brows. It’s simple really.

Maybelline Eye Studio Gel Liner – I grew up with pencil liners as most young girls do but I just wasn’t satisfied with the way they sort of hardened and hurt my eyes when I was trying to scrape product off the pencil and onto the most sensitive part of my face. Once I was introduced to the Eye Studio Gel Liner I found it much easier to get in between the eyelashes to tightline and even better was the fact that it smudged less than the pencil liners I had been using prior.

Rimmel Match Perfection Concealer – For some people finding a matching colour for their foundation and concealers is an easy job. Lucky bastards. But for the rest of us unmatchable and uneven toned skin ladies finding a good match in a concealer is comparable to completing a trek up the equivalent of Mount Everest for makeup. Mount Makeup if you will.

With the Rimmel Match Perfection Concealer, the product is super and I mean SUPER blendable into the skin so much so that with a few dabs of the product with your fingers will melt it right in. I have replaced this concealer at least 3 times already but despite such a good match to my skin tone it genuinely doesn’t have perfect coverage. In fact I’d say it was light or medium at best which is why I have another concealer to cover my designer bags.

Maybelline Age Rewind Erase Concealer – I would like to say my eye bags are designer, fashionable and an accessory to my face but I couldn’t be more mistaken if those words came out of my mouth. The eye bags that sit on my face today were the result of odd sleeping patterns developed as soon as I hit year 11 due to (an addiction to) the Internet and studying for my graduation and University entrance exams which have remained since.

I have found the formula of the Age Rewind Erase Concealer to be very opaque and cover my eyebags superbly and without effort. I actually have to use this concealer sparingly due to the strength of this stuff! It’s amazing!

Benefit They’re Real Mascara – Unlike most other makeup products, it’s very hard to tell the quality of a mascara. I mean come on, it’s black, it has a brush and you certainly can’t test it using the testers in store (cue eye infections). The only way, at least for myself, is to wear it throughout the day and perhaps over a couple of more days to test how it holds up.

My favourite mascara is the They’re Real Mascara by Benefit due to the great bristles and light-weight formula. The light-weight formula is especially suited to my eyelashes which droop down naturally so it doesn’t weigh them down further. Also the special brush helps separate my eyelashes to prevent clumping whilst promoting an even coat on all lashes. I thought investing $38 into one product was quite steep but it ended up being a really great purchase.

Maybelline Master Precise Liquid Liner – Winged eyeliner is my life, well…a large part of it. It accentuates the shape of and adds depth to my eyes and widens them at the outer corner. To achieve a perfect little flick takes months of practice and some natural skill but it can be hell to get it down if you have a bad eyeliner.

The Maybelline Master Precise Liquid Liner was my replacement to the K-Palette 1 Day Tattoo Real Lasting Eyeliner 24h (the longest name for an eyeliner in history goes to…) as it was hard for me to get in local drugstores. I absolutely and abhorrently hate felt tip liquid liners due to the stiffness and inflexibility of the applicator. Unfortunately most liquid liners in pen form on the market have felt tips. When I saw this new product by Maybelline at my local Priceline I knew I had to try it even though it was only pure wishing that it was a brush tip because it didn’t indicate it wasn’t a felt tip on the package. I think Maybelline really should have emphasised this because if I didn’t feel like taking a risk that day I wouldn’t have bought it, tried it and loved it so dearly.

My eyes thank you for clothing them fashionably Master Precise!

YSL Rouge Volupte Shine – A couple of years back I decided to buy myself a Valentines present to treat myself – a YSL lipstick. That one present sparked my ongoing obsession with YSL lipsticks because their colour payoff and moisturising formula was like nothing I had experienced before. Honestly! Every time I put this brand on it’s like a spa for my lips which are left soft and dewy. And as it was my first splurge on a makeup product I began to accept that sometimes the pricier stuff is justified and not as snobby as I’d thought.

Rimmel Mono Blush –  With the formula of blushes I consider it to be on the same level as eyebrow pencils. They have different colours, you use it sparingly and the only big difference is the price tag. Because of my view on blushes I don’t have any major compliments or major complaints about this blush as its just an all-rounder. It does it’s job and adds a great colour to my cheeks without me looking like a baboons butt like I would with more pinker colours. The Mono Blush is good although I do feel that I could find a better out there so for now, it’s my best blush.

Nude by Nature Mineral Cover – To find the holy grail solution to my problem of finding a colour that matched my skin and didn’t make me look like I had a mask on is probably as hard as finding the holy grail itself. Nude by Nature Mineral Cover is close to this holy grail for me but of course not quite there for all my needs. Can’t please everyone can we?

The coverage in this mineral foundation is great for a powder and is so fluffy as well as blendable into the skin. When you first use it, it appears matte but over a couple of hours your natural oils come out to make it look incredibly natural looking and dewy too. It has also lasted me for a very long time, in fact I don’t think I’ve even used a quarter of the product yet. It doesn’t have any oil controlling properties in it so it sometimes gets too shiny which is my major fault with this foundation – other than that I think it’s a great product. In the case of grease face you can always dab on some more powder over the first layer because it is easily buildable over the top.

Have you had any experiences with one of my favourite products?

Please check out my blog sale as well.

If you enjoyed this post please like/comment/share. 🙂

This entry was posted in: Makeup
Tagged with: ,

by

I'm a Marketing professional by day, blogger by night and a beauty lover 24/7. My perfect day would consist of taking my sweet time putting on makeup, bargain hunting at secondhand markets, trying new cuisines and feeding stray kitties.

6 Comments

  1. I love your blog, your posts are beautiful! I just followed you, it would be great if we can support each other 🙂 I am so glad I got to discover you ❤

    Like

    • Thank you so much for reading. The images you select for your posts are ao gorgeous! Yes absolutely! I’ve followed back too 🙂 I look forward to seeing your posts on my feed very soon ❤

      Like

  2. Ahh so u wear two concealers. Niiice~
    i prefer gel liners too over pencils and paint. Pencils are annoying esp when i keep losing my sharpener. And paint just smudges alot for me ㅡ.ㅡ NICE COLLECTION~~

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes I do! Thank you so much 🙂 I was originally hoping to swap over to just using the Maybelline one but realised I was too tanned to use it in the shade for most of my face haha. I hear you sister, those pesky makeup problems are universal! I love your coverage on Asian models and fashion. Keep up the good work!

      Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

