Thoughts
Leave a Comment

Quiet New Years Celebrations

applemeekoalifewithlove

I think the stage for me to yearn for the flashy hustle and bustle associated with viewing the fireworks or god forbid wanting to squeeze into a dress and heels to go to a nightclub is over. I no longer see the appeal of it because I’d rather spend my new year creating a sort of symbolic path to follow for the year.

My new year was spent with a group of my closest friends under the moonlight with some snacks on a quaint beach listening to the sound of the waves come onto the shore. I guess I’d like my whole year to be like this – so simple yet heartwarming.

applemeeko-newyears-2015

The glowing lights from the port lit our little party.

applemeeko-newyears-2015

I wish it had been a full moon that night too. The reflection from the water would have been beautiful.

applemeeko-newyears-2015

applemeeko-newyears-2015

The perspective from the wooden pillars holding up a small shop front.

applemeeko-newyears-2015

applemeeko-newyears-2015

On the edges of the beach were multiple little rock pools with fish and oysters.

applemeeko-newyears-2015

Due to our lack of real fireworks (and the fact that they are kind of illegal to have) we opted for something more long-lasting – glow sticks.

applemeeko-newyears-2015

Legalities didn’t stop the group across the beach from lighting theirs up. I feel as if new years is the only time when you can shout something at another group of people only for them to shout back nicely. Same reciprocation with sharing of the joy of each others fireworks.

applemeeko-newyears-2015

Although I am afraid of sparklers I can admit they are gorgeous to look at. Their sparks give me this strong feeling of hope as if to tell me it’s time to burst out from the masses and light up the night.

applemeeko-newyears-2015

applemeeko-newyears-2015

Stand there and watch the sparkler? Nope. Let’s wave it around like magic wands in Harry Potter!

applemeeko-newyears-2015

applemeeko-newyears-2015

The remnants of the sparkler fountain we made ended up looking like something out of a satanic ritual. So of course we decided to make it look even more like one.

I had a lovely start to the year already and hope you have had a great one too. Once again, Happy New Year! ❤ Time to get to work on all those new year goals. 🙂

If you’ve enjoyed this post please comment/like/share!

 

This entry was posted in: Thoughts

by

I'm a Marketing professional by day, blogger by night and a beauty lover 24/7. My perfect day would consist of taking my sweet time putting on makeup, bargain hunting at secondhand markets, trying new cuisines and feeding stray kitties.

What do you think?

