Food
Leave a Comment

Memphis Wings (Casula, Sydney)

applemeekofoodAs I live a bit far from the city where all the foods of the world are located, having a hankering for something you just cannot get in your local area is, in my opinion, debilitating to the concentration of my mind on the everyday eating task.

“What do you want to eat?”

“______ but there’s no place that does it here.”

“Well then I guess we’ll just have ______ instead.” *sigh*

Yes, it’s a first world problem but within the scope of first world problems it is up there on the list. It’s a major problem to craving satisfaction. And the craving I had for about 2 months before satiating it was buffalo wings – American style.

Memphis Wings – Shop 103 Parkers Farm Pl (Crossroads) Casula NSW 2170
Open Mon-Wed 9AM-9PM | Thurs-Sat 9AM-9:30PM | Sun 9AM-5PM

I didn’t want to intentionally disappoint you but I actually didn’t manage to get a picture of the restaurant exterior due to a sudden downpour in rain (and when I say downpour I mean enough to fill a swimming pool). Australian weather huh.

I could probably describe it though. It’s alright. Haha just kidding, it was good as it was a small-scale restaurant with large wooden outdoor tables under the shade and the interior was covered with a lot of American vintage (1960s-1990s) pop culture paraphernalia and signage.

Memphis Wings serves an adequate range of dishes such as the wings I craved, hot dogs, subs and ribs. All meaty, all heavily flavoured and doused in cheese – just how the originators would have liked it.

applemeeko-memphiswings

We ordered my wings and a pulled pork sub combination meal.

applemeeko-memphiswings

10 piece hot wings with smoked barbecue sauce and a side of curly fries.

applemeeko-memphiswings

In one word the wings were slightly disappointing as they had the smokey flavour and kick that I wanted but the meat was very dry. From the outside the wings looked incredibly saucy and juicy but when I bit into the meat it was like a desert with a few droplets of water in it.

The pulled pork in the sub was deliciously juicy and tender while the cheese gave me cheesestache whenever I took a bite. I don’t actually mind cheesetaches – they taste great! However the bun it was served on looked borderline stale by the dull colour and the cracks from being a couple of days old. The flavour of the pulled pork masked it. I guess I can’t be too dissatisfied if I couldn’t taste it was going bad right?

applemeeko-memphiswings

A dull and brittle cracked bun.

applemeeko-memphiswings

I really hope that they don’t normally over cook their wings or use stale bread on a regular basis. I think I just got unlucky with the managing chef that day.

applemeeko-memphiswings

The curly fries served on the side were delicious and freshly fried.

Memphis Wings on Urbanspoon

FINAL VERDICT

Store: 8/10 the storefront was very homely to dine at and it was interesting to look at all the colourful American culture signage as well as the Corona bottle wall

Menu: 7.5/10 the items were nicely varied with a lot of delicious sounding choices – the BBQ dishes like the ribs sounded nice but I’m not too sure I’d spend the money to have something that might or might not be cooked right depending on my luck that day

Waiting time: 7.5/10 from ordering to receiving our meal it took about 15 to 20 minutes

Servers: 7.5/10 the servers at Memphis were helpful and efficient

Value for money: 7/10 in terms of quantity it was okay for the price however the quality could have been better for both dishes

Taste: 6.5-7/10 taste was half-half with both of the dishes – 6.5 for the wings as they overcooked the chicken which is the entire meal itself while 7 is for the pulled pork sub as the taste was great but only one component of it was not up to scratch

Please comment/like/share if you’ve enjoyed this post!

This entry was posted in: Food
Tagged with: , ,

by

I'm a Marketing professional by day, blogger by night and a beauty lover 24/7. My perfect day would consist of taking my sweet time putting on makeup, bargain hunting at secondhand markets, trying new cuisines and feeding stray kitties.

What do you think?

