Thoughts
Comments 4

My Story of An Aching Heart And Painful Regret

applemeekoalifewithlove

At the start of this week I came across a situation in which left me feeling a lot of regret and anguish as I think I took the wrong option. As a matter of fact, I know I chose the wrong option.

To save or not to save?

I regretfully chose not to save. But it’s not my fault, or so I try to tell myself.

To others it may not have been a big deal because the thing that needed my help was a Cat. Yes an animal that supposedly doesn’t have nearly enough intellect and emotions as us mighty humans. But to those like me, it’s a life and a big deal.

I remember the morning it happened. My father was driving to the airport for his flight while I rode along in the passenger seat as I was too sleepy and decided not to drive. I soon came to regret this decision.

As we turned the corner just off my street I saw something that caught my eye.

You see, I have a really good knack for spotting animals whilst in a moving car whether it be puppies, kitties or rabbits (because they are the most common to hop on the road).

This time around I saw a kitty laying on the ground but for some reason it couldn’t get up despite being in the middle of making vicious swipes at a bird who began swooping at it. It was injured and laying just where one would turn the corner and unsuspectingly run over it.

It was the perfect setup. Although perfect is a horrible word to use for this situation, there was no denying what the result would have been.

I wanted to save it but I didn’t to stop my father from continuing to drive away while I sat there in the passenger seat with my face frozen and my eyes were glazed over and fixated onto nothingness. As we drove further and further away I prayed it would still be alive when I got back home. Yes. The agnostic girl prayed for the life of a small kitty to someone, somewhere she didn’t even know existed.

It turned out to be a small fruitless gesture because when I reached the corner where it had lay injured an hour or two earlier, it was crushed.

This story doesn’t have much of a happy ending but instead pain and regret however the only good thing to come from it was a promise.  A promise to never ever choose the wrong decision again.

I think if I had saved it and nurtured it back to health it would look something like the cat in the picture. It would have been a lovely companion.

This entry was posted in: Thoughts
Tagged with: ,

by

I'm a Marketing professional by day, blogger by night and a beauty lover 24/7. My perfect day would consist of taking my sweet time putting on makeup, bargain hunting at secondhand markets, trying new cuisines and feeding stray kitties.

4 Comments

  1. Oh Linda, I feel for you. Such a difficult situation. It is so hard to know what to do. I once took an injured dog to the vet but when it wasn’t microchipped and they couldn’t contact the owner, they had to put it to sleep anyway. They quoted me $1000 but I wasn’t in a position to pay or a position to keep him at the time. It still breaks my heart.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hmm that’s a different way to see it since I wouldn’t have been entirely sure it would have survived if I had taken it in. Like yourself back then, at the moment I’m in no position to keep another as well (2 dogs, 3 puppies and 1 cat). Hopefully our broken hearts will create something beautiful for the future of stray and injured animals one day. I’m honestly loving the idea of having a no-kill animal shelter!

      Like

  2. I know how you feel! I love animals so much and even as a child I would bring animals home constantly. Recently, I saved a kitten and he ended up being so badly sick that he died a week after I took him in. I was so heartbroken, but was assured there was nothing else I could have done. In situations like this we often ask ourselves “what if” but there is no certainty with any situation. This story goes to show how kind hearted you are! We need more people like you, despite your regret over not acting your remorse is something some people still lack. Bless you! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s wonderful to hear there are people like me! I thought I was just overly sensitive according to how things are in today’s society. I’m so sorry to hear you had a similar experience like mine, no one should feel this way but it seems there’s no way around it. Thank you for taking the time to comment and give me a little hope that I’m not alone in my emotions. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

