Food
Comments 3

Bourke Street Bakery (Surry Hills, Sydney)

applemeekosnobbery

Would it make me a horrible person to say I didn’t actually want to come to Bourke Street Bakery? Not because of the food, or any unfavourable reviews (on the contrary, the reviews said it was great) but because of my habitual hate for going out of my natural way and trekking to a place to eat. In my 21st century take-and-take-more mentality, having to head to a place specifically for its food and nothing else seems an awful waste of effort. I really give props to all the real foodies in the world whose passions lead them to go as far as they can. Kudos.

Bourke Street Bakery – 633 Bourke Street, Surry Hills NSW 2010
Open 7AM-6PM on weekdays and 7AM-5PM on weekends

Bourke Street Bakery is a dessert lovers desire and savoury lovers solace (my situation being the latter type) as its menu is both unique and delicious. It’s as if the masterminds behind their mixtures of flavours knew exactly how the ingredients would intertwine together but I would like to assume that this was instead, from hours of hard work and experimentation.

We ordered a sandwich to start off our Saturday brunch escapade. It was a very large chicken schnitzel sandwich with grilled slices of sourdough bread (?) and a very interesting purple cabbage slaw. I’m not sure if it should be an important detail to note that I hate the bitter and boring taste of cabbage but in this sandwich it was quite good!

The slaw was cheesy and tangy and the chicken schnitzel was really hearty and filling. The bread was a wonderful quality as expected by a good bakery with a slight buttery taste along with a tangy sour taste that I couldn’t quite pinpoint at the time. It was either the sourdough bread or the taste was from the slaw. I’m not a connoisseur or a foodie so all I can do is to give it thumbs up and a ‘I’d come back here’ comment.

bourkestreetbakery-sandwich

Chicken Schnitzel, Emmenthal Cheese & Mustard Coleslaw Sandwich $9

After we polished off the sandwich (my first meal of the day at almost 12pm) I could finally start on the sweet pastries! Do you ever get those stomach aches from eating sweet stuff in the morning as your first meal? I have a serious issue with sweet breakfast foods, especially the warm sweet foods. Cue the IBS.

This delectable thing was my favourite of the two sweet pastries as it was a perfect mix of sweet and savoury flavours. The pastry was incredibly crispy – by far the most flakey and crispy pastry I’ve had as if it was just taken out of the oven. Not an ounce of that weird soggy chewiness that comes with leaving it out too long was seen in this Danish (or as the other half has mistakenly called it – Darnish).

bourkestreetbakery-peachdanish

Peach Danish $4

The ginger brulee tart is a possibly the most well-known item from Bourke Street Bakery’s menu. Have you ever seen or heard of a ginger brulee? Because I sure haven’t! And that’s the reason why it was so interesting to my taste buds. The pastry cup was thin,the ginger cream was to die for in terms of its dense and creamy texture while the sugar on top was perfectly fired – not overly bitter at all.

Unfortunately it was through this tart that I found out I wasn’t too into the gingery taste but if they had their version of the normal brulee in a tart form I’d want them to tell me about it straight away.

bourkestreetbakery-gingercremebrulee

Ginger Brulee Tart $5

Bourke Street Bakery on Urbanspoon

Main Image Credit: http://bourkestreetbakery.com.au/project/surry-hills/

FINAL VERDICT

Store: 7.5/10 the bakery is located at a corner location with mainly outdoor seating (facing everyone watching you eat as they drove by) and only about 3 small tables stuffed into a corner of the shop – as it started raining soon after we took our seats outside I found it was slightly frustrating getting to a seat inside

Menu: 8/10 the items on the menu were very interesting yet delicious sounding and offered a good mix between savoury and sweet dishes

Waiting time: 7.5/10 as it was a Saturday afternoon like most of my food outings it was very busy however the waiting time was mitigated with the occupying task of choosing our order so it wasn’t that bad at all – just don’t expect to walk in and walk out with your food immediately despite the takeaway feel of the store

Servers: 8.5/10 the servers were very efficient and friendly from taking our order to bringing out our food

Value for money: 7.5-8/10 the sandwich was delightfully filling for the price we paid while the sweet Danish and tart were reasonably priced – I didn’t fully enjoy the ginger brulee tart so that was a bit of a waste

Taste: 8-8.5/10 like I stated in the body of this post, the flavours found at this bakery were an alchemic hodge-podge of interesting ingredients that for the most part worked extremely well which I think is extremely clever of them

Please comment/like/share if you’ve enjoyed this post.

This entry was posted in: Food
Tagged with: , , ,

by

I'm a Marketing professional by day, blogger by night and a beauty lover 24/7. My perfect day would consist of taking my sweet time putting on makeup, bargain hunting at secondhand markets, trying new cuisines and feeding stray kitties.

3 Comments

  1. Everything looks fantastic! Never heard of their brulee tart but it sounds like an interesting mix of flavours.:)
    How long did you have to wait for?

    Liked by 1 person

    • This place is an Intagrammers delight! Everything has such an interesting combo and that makes two for two for the people who never heard of the brulee tart haha.
      I probably waited for about 5 to 10 minutes lining up then another 5 minutes for them to bring out our food. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • That’s not too bad of a wait.
        Thanks for the great review. I’m looking forward to visiting.
        Cheers

        Like

What do you think?

