Skincare
Comment 1

Review: Simple Skincare Spotless Anti-Blemish Moisturiser

Hand holding Simple Skincare Spotless Anti-Blemish Moisturiser for acne

For this post I’ll be reviewing the Spotless Anti-Blemish moisturiser by Simple Skincare which is specially formulated for sensitive and acne prone skin.

Throughout my teenage and young adult life I had consistent acne problems and hence have been looking for a solution to get rid of my pimples and acne for years. At first my acne problem were small surface pimples across most of my T-zone but over the years it has grown to something worse.

With a stressful beginning to University I began to develop cystic acne that came and went. They surfaced in areas of my face that I’ve never had acne before like the sides of my face and the apples of my cheeks. And it was following one of these bad breakout periods that I picked up the Simple moisturiser at my local Priceline for around $10.

I’ve previously used both the cleansers and moisturisers from the Simple Skincare range for this same reason and have nothing but love for their effectiveness and gentleness on my skin.

Simple SkincareSpotless Anti-Blemish Moisturiser for acne

Simple Skincare Spotless Anti-Blemish Moisturiser $9.99

Simple Skincare Spotless Anti-Blemish Moisturiser for acne

According to the packaging it is a moisturiser designed to soothe and reduce the signs of blemishes but I know that could mean a lot of things. Hah! Those marketing claims that all brands do it to some extent. Even a little improvement in redness or bumpiness the day after is still technically ‘results from day 1’ right?

Simple Skincare Spotless Anti-Blemish Moisturiser cap open

Keeping up with the brands image of being gentle, the smell of the cream was something along the lines of nothing and a slight smell of a chemical. There was no perfume smell as far as my nose detected and that is a great thing for sensitive skin.

The two active ingredients in this bad boy are camomile and zinc. The natural ingredient, Camomile is well-known to have anti-inflammatory, anti-bacterial, anti-irritant and basically anti everything acne is.

Camomile Flowers

Credit: Creative Commons

While I’ve never heard of using zinc to cure acne, I’ve read it helps with lowering oil production and helps fight bacteria as well. With these two targeted ingredients, surely my skin would improve right?

When I first tried the product on my face I noticed the light texture of the cream which dried to a non-greasy finish. Just what I needed as excessively greasy and oily products irritate the skin even more.

Simple Skincare Spotless Anti-Blemish Moisturiser for acne swatch on hand

Simple Skincare Spotless Anti-Blemish Moisturiser for acne swatch on hand

Simple Skincare Spotless Anti-Blemish Moisturiser for acne swatch on hand

After using the Spotless Anti-Blemish moisturiser every morning and night for few months, my final verdict on this product is that it sort of works.

This is not to say that I’m disappointed with this product in fact I was quite happy with it. It didn’t cure my acne overnight and I didn’t expect it to. What I expected was for it to help do a bit of damage control for my acne that kept resurfacing and it definitely did.

I can say confidently that this moisturiser helped keep small pimples under control, while using this moisturise my smaller pimples were improving over a few days and healed faster than usual. I’d say about 1 to 3 days faster? However for the few raging cystic pimples on my face, the moisturiser didn’t work quite as well as one could dream.

Product 7/10 – Great product for the price range and I think it did what it claimed it would.

Pros:

  • Texture of cream was very light smelled of almost nothing
  • Worked well in reducing redness and inflammation for small blemishes
  • Reduced healing time

Cons:

  • No SPF
  • Could be more moisturising for dry skin days
  • Doesn’t work as well for cystic acne (but seriously nothing works for those damned things)

Packaging 9/10 – Perfect for me as it’s an upside down squeeze tube letting gravity work its magic so I didn’t have to shake the product to the tip of the nozzle like a mad woman.

Would I buy it again? Maybe in the future as my regular moisturiser but I’d like to try some other products to see if they’re more effective on my cystic acne.

That’s it for this review and I hope you’ve found it helpful! Have any of you gotten some different results from what I’ve experienced?

Thanks for reading guys! ❤

Good luck to those like me trying to find the right product for their acne and to those who have great skin, continue on your way.

This entry was posted in: Skincare

by

I'm a Marketing professional by day, blogger by night and a beauty lover 24/7. My perfect day would consist of taking my sweet time putting on makeup, bargain hunting at secondhand markets, trying new cuisines and feeding stray kitties.

1 Comment

  1. Mrs. Shern says

    I have not tried this one but surely one to look forward to. Thanks for sharing this.

    Like

What do you think?

