Makeup
Comments 6

Review: Maybelline Hyper Sharp Wing Liquid Brush Eyeliner

Maybelline Hyper Sharp Wings Liquid Eyeliner Pen

Hi there! For today’s review I’ll be looking at the versatile and new Hyper Sharp Wing Liquid Eyeliner Pen from Maybelline.

Maybelline Hyper Sharp Wing Liquid Eyeliner Pen

Ever since I’ve started using liquid eyeliners I had never strayed from the pen types with actual brush tips but have stayed far away from felt tip type liquid eyeliners.

What’s the difference between the felt tip liquid eyeliners and the brush tips you might ask? The flow of product through the pen would be THE biggest feature I look for in a liquid eyeliner pen besides the opaqueness of the eyeliner formula. Quite frankly, the felt tips dry ridiculously faster than the brush tips when exposed to air (just like felt tip markers) which leave underwhelming dry streaks when you try to use it on your skin.

Brush tipped liquid eyeliners, on the other hand, I have found to be much better at letting the eyeliner liquid flow through due to the many gaps in between each bristle. The exposed surface area of felt tipped liquid eyeliners just crusts over and refuses to allow much eyeliner liquid to come out.

This is why brush tipped eyeliners trump felt tips. Hard.

Maybelline Hyper Sharp Wing Liquid Eyeliner Pen Open

I remember seeing pictures of this new eyeliner pen on Instagram and wondering why everyone thought it was the best thing created. Sadly I was a bit deceived by the pictures of as they didn’t show the features of the eyeliner tip very well.

Once I figured out that the tip had two sides, my mind was figuratively blown as I’ve tried both very thin/precise and thick/bold brush tips but in separate eyeliners. When I use either of the thin or thick width eyeliners, I have to modify the way I use the tip in order to get my desired look along the length of my eye. Thinner lines in the inner corner and thicker lines at the wings.

With Maybelline’s new innovative brush tip, I only have to turn the tip to the thin or thick side to easily fill in my cat eye. Perfect! It’s essentially two eyeliners in one great package!

Maybelline Hyper Sharp Liquid Eyeliner Pen Thick Tip

Thick side of Maybelline’s Hyper Sharp Wing Eyeliner

Maybelline Hyper Sharp Liquid Eyeliner Pen Thin Tip

Thin side of Maybelline’s Hyper Sharp Wing Eyeliner

Beside the two different widths, I love the brush tip of this eyeliner for the synthetic bristles in particular as it’s extremely bouncy and flexible allowing for some serious precision and control on application. They aren’t joking about the name of this eyeliner as the brush lets you create a great winged eyeliner look.

You can see in the swatches that the thin side makes for a comfortable application of a thin line in the inner corners of the eye as well as precisely finishing off the end of the wing tip. The thick side of the brush lets me easily fill in the body of the eyeliner wing without having to go over and over the line to build up some thickness.

Maybelline Hyper Sharp Wing Liquid Eyeliner Pen Swatch

Swatches of both thin and thick sides of Maybelline’s Hyper Sharp Wing Eyeliner

The formula in this eyeliner is a pretty opaque shade of black which easily flowed from the brush tip which meant a very intense and sharp look. The formula seems to stay pretty well on my unprimed eyelid throughout the day so even though my eyeshadow slips and slides, the eyeliner requires a maximum of one touch up a day just before you head off to an after-work activity.

Maybelline Hyper Sharp Wing Eyeliner On Eye

Sorry for the poor quality images of the eyeliner in action as I don’t have a camera that has a flip screen and I am horrible at understanding the exact angles of my face in the frame. I’ll try to find a better solution for this next time!

Product 8.5/10

Pros:

  • Very opaque eyeliner formula
  • Two tip width options making it multi-functional
  • Brush tip is very sturdy and easy to manipulate
  • Synthetic bristles make the tip ideal for tiny precise wings

Cons:

  • Switching from one side to the other takes a bit of practice

Packaging 9/10

Nothing too special about it but it’s a solid pen with a tight clip on lid which reduces chances of any messy situations.

Would I buy it again?

I would definitely buy this again as it just seems like the best two-in-one type of eyeliner product.

I hope you’ve all enjoyed this review of the Maybelline Hyper Sharp Wing liquid eyeliner.

Do you prefer brush tips or felt tips better for liquid eyeliner pens?

Let me know if you have any questions about this liquid eyeliner and my experiences with it and I’ll make sure to get back to you.

Also, don’t forget to check out my social media accounts below.

Instagram @applemeeko

Twitter @mslindapendent

This entry was posted in: Makeup
Tagged with: , ,

by

I'm a Marketing professional by day, blogger by night and a beauty lover 24/7. My perfect day would consist of taking my sweet time putting on makeup, bargain hunting at secondhand markets, trying new cuisines and feeding stray kitties.

6 Comments

  1. Pingback: 40 Beauty Questions Tag – Everyday Skincare & Favourite Makeup Products | Miss Lindapendent

    • Thank you Bambi! I use a small camera for these photos and take forever to choose the right lighting haha! Yes absolutely I see you love Kpop and drama also! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • behappyxxx says

        Ahh yes! Lighting is so difficult! >_< Sometimes it's rainy the whole week and then it screws up my pictures haha. And other times I'm just too lazy, so I just do my best to photo edit them and hope they're somewhat presentable lol

        Liked by 1 person

      • Natural lighting is the best always! I was thinking of getting a little lighting get up off ebay just for those days. Hopefully they’re not too expensive!

        Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

