Makeup, Makeup Product Reviews
Comments 16

Review: Estee Lauder Pure Color Envy Lipstick 330 Impassioned

Estee Lauder Pure Color Envy 330 Impassioned Red Lipstick Open

Hey all! If you’re anything like me, finding the perfect shade of red lipstick has been on your beauty wish list for yonks. Don’t you just yearn for that sexy, demure red lip look with a bold intense cat eye? Talk about a total pin-up goddess!

For today, I’ll be reviewing the Pure Color Envy Sculpting Lipstick in 330 Impassioned by Estee Lauder.

So a red lipstick huh. Any red lipstick will do right? Wrong.

You might think finding a shade of red is as easy as a finding a good old shade of pink but it is significantly harder than that. In fact, finding the correct red lipstick is really much like finding the right shade of foundation.

For foundations you will have the usual cool, warm and neutral undertones. With red lipstick, the colour can have a tinge of blue/cool to orange/warm tones too which can greatly affect how it looks and suits your face. The process of choosing one is quite complicated really and you can only keep on trying reds from both cool and warm spectrums to find the perfect red for yourself.

Also, truth be told, I’ve always seen bold lip choices to be incredibly out there and courageous, even requiring a certain level of confidence in one self to be able to pull them off successfully. Even to this day I cannot bring myself to wear a full wash of red on my lips!

Estee Lauder Pure Color Envy Lipstick

Estee Lauder Pure Color Envy Lipstick $50

Prior to receiving this lipstick as a birthday gift one year, I had never really touched any of the products from the Estee Lauder brand.

For some reason I had this idea that the Estee Lauder brand was targeted to grown up ladies and women and as I still considered myself a girl I thought it wasn’t for me. But I guess I’ve grown up from that time and have graduated to the perfect age range for higher ended beauty products now.

Estee Lauder Pure Color Envy 330 Impassioned Red Lipstick

Estee Lauder Pure Color Envy 330 Impassioned Red Lipstick

Estee Lauder Pure Color Envy 330 Impassioned Red Lipstick

The first feature I noticed about this lipstick was the look of the gorgeous deep navy packaging with rich golden accents. The packaging looks incredibly luxurious and has a bit of a weighted metal touch to it too which indicate a high quality brand in my eyes.

Think on the same lines are watches. Feel the weight of it!

Besides the look of the packaging, the added magnetic lid closure feature of the lipstick reassures me that someone had actually thought extra long and hard about how to make this lipstick as nice to own as it is to use.

Estee Lauder Pure Color Envy 330 Impassioned Red Lipstick Open

Estee Lauder Pure Color Envy 330 Impassioned Red Lipstick

The formula of this lipstick is the dream, not A dream but THE dream. The formula just glides smoothly like silk, leaving an intense pop of colour behind whilst still moisturising the delicate skin of my lips. Not to mention the sweet candy-like smell was very pleasant too.

After a few hours of wearing this lipstick, it is able to tint my naturally brown toned lips with a natural flush of red and although it doesn’t stay exactly how I initially applied it there is still colour on my lips at the end of the day. This lipstick has become my go-to multi-use lip tint and serious pop of colour depending on how I apply it.

As I mentioned at the start of this post, the colour of a red lipstick is deadly important and luckily the 330 Impassioned is a lovely universal neutral to cool shade of red which works great with my medium olive skin tone. I think I’m in love!

Estee Lauder Pure Color Envy 330 Impassioned Red Lipstick Close Up

Estee Lauder Pure Color Envy 330 Impassioned Swatch

This is how the lipstick looks as I usually wear it on the left which is achieved by dabbing the colour lightly on the lips, while on the right I just applied the colour on normally.

The Pure Color Envy lipstick is very moisturising as you can see by the nice gloss it adds to my lips. The formula’s buildable colour lets me use the lipstick as a tint in the daytime and also lets me easily touch it up to create an intense look for nighttime without any dryness or chapped skin from wearing it all day.

Estee Lauder Pure Color Envy 330 Impassioned Swatch on Lips

Right: Applied by dabbing colour onto my lips Left: Straight application

Product 9/10

Pros:

  • Very lovely red colour that compliments my skin tone well
  • Moisturising formula that doesn’t dry out lips
  • Intense opaque colour that is buildable as well

Cons:

  • Could be more longer lasting

Packaging 9/10

The packaging is on point in both functionality and aesthetically. It makes me feel very lovely when I touch up in public too.

Would I buy it again?

I would definitely buy this lipstick again and possibly in other colours as they have a pretty nice range of pinks and corals I’d love to own as well. ❤

Thank you reading this review of Estee Lauder’s Pure Color Envy Sculpting Lipstick! I hope you’ve enjoyed reading it as much as I enjoy this lipstick.

Have you found your perfect red shade yet?

Let me know if you have any comments or questions about this lipstick or my experience with it and I’ll make sure to get back to you.

Also, you can pop by my social media channels to see what I’ve been up to lately!

Instagram @misslindapendent

Twitter @mslindapendent

This entry was posted in: Makeup, Makeup Product Reviews
Tagged with: , ,

by

I'm a Marketing professional by day, blogger by night and a beauty lover 24/7. My perfect day would consist of taking my sweet time putting on makeup, bargain hunting at secondhand markets, trying new cuisines and feeding stray kitties.

16 Comments

  1. Pingback: 40 Beauty Questions Tag – Everyday Skincare & Favourite Makeup Products | Miss Lindapendent

      • Oh, I am in love with so many different brands. But my favourite at the moment would probably be shu uemura and Tom Ford. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ahh I see! I’ve heard they’re very good quality brands but I’ve never tried them yet. Perhaps my first purchase from them should be a good lippie! 😀

        Like

    • It’s one of the loveliest lipsticks I own! Don’t you just wish all lipsticks were as moisturising and vibrant? 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

What do you think?

