Makeup, Makeup Product Reviews
Comments 8

Review: Maybelline Fit Me! Concealer in Sand & Medium

Maybelline Fit Me Concealer in Medium and Sand

Happy start of the week! And good luck on your week ahead because I know I will need it.

The lucky product to slip under my vigorous screening process as of late is the Maybelline Fit Me Concealer in both Sand 20 and Medium 25. I’ve been hearing that this Fit Me concealer is a great dupe of the NARS Radiant Creamy concealer so it sounds very promising to me! 🙂

I initially bought this concealer in the Sand colour at my local supermarket thinking it wouldn’t be too far off in colour. But it turns out my guesstimation was sadly wrong and I needed to pick up the next colour up in Medium.

I think this experience just tells me to stop buying foundation-type face products from the supermarket when I don’t have a tester to try out. Lesson learnt and note taken.

Prior to getting these Maybelline Fit Me concealers I was using the Rimmel Match Perfection concealer and had run through about 4 of those babies before I decided to make a switch to test other concealers available on the market.

Maybelline Fit Me Concealer in Medium and Sand

Maybelline Fit Me Concealers – retailing at around $15

I’m usually looking for three things in a concealer which are:

1) Match to my skintone
2) Blendability
3) Concealing strength

So basically I’m someone who wants it all! My last concealer managed to fulfil the first and second points but perhaps because of the light liquid formula, the ability of it to conceal hyperpigmentation from acne scars was average at best.

When I first tried the Maybelline concealer I was comforted in the fact that it has a similar consistency to my previous concealer which I loved as it was super easy to blend and work into my skin. Brownie points earned for that!

As I swatched both colours on the back of my hand which is lighter than my face, I noticed that Fit Me in Medium was significantly more warm in tone than the Fit Me in Sand colour. This is surprising considering Medium 25 is literally the next colour up from Sand 20. What happened there Maybelline?

Maybelline Fit Me Concealer in Medium and Sand

Luckily I could make both colours work well with me as I now use the paler Fit Me Sand to cover up my darker under eyes. The Sand colour is too light for the rest of my face and would draw even more attention to the spots I’m trying to cover up.

The warmer toned Fit Me concealer in Medium is however, a great colour which is much closer to my actual skin tone.

Both concealers had consistent formulas and were easily blended into my skin. A few gentle dabs with my finger worked the product in quite well without making any of my fine lines visible or more accentuated.

Maybelline Fit Me Concealer in Sand Open

Maybelline Fit Me Concealer in Sand 20

Maybelline Fit Me Concealer in Medium Open

Maybelline Fit Me Concealer in Medium 25

The packaging of this item is pretty standard and comes with a small furry applicator that reminds me of standard lip glosses. I’d say that the applicator wand isn’t so much to help work the concealer into the skin but rather just as a tool to help get the product out and onto your face for further blending.

Maybelline Fit Me Concealer in Medium and Sand Swatch

Maybelline Fit Me Concealer in Medium and Sand

A good example of the Fit Me concealer’s coverage over a smidge of liquid eyeliner.

In terms of the 3 features that the perfect concealer would have, I think this concealer only ticks 2.5 of them. Colour match, check. Blendability, check. Concealing strength? Ehh…

I’d say that this concealer is definitely better than my previous light to medium coverage concealer. The Fit Me concealer is closer to medium coverage due to its slightly thicker consistency that worked very well into my skin and looked quite natural to the eye.

My dark acne scars were only partially covered while the lighter spot were concealed much better. I think this concealer would be great for those without dark toned scars like mine.

This concealer stays on for most of my 8 hour work day and loses a bit of it effectiveness by the end of it. It doesn’t say it’s a long wearing concealer on the packaging but I like that it stays put on my face for the most part.

Maybelline Fit Me Concealer in Medium and Sand Swatch

Maybelline Fit Me Concealer in Medium and Sand

All in all, I think the Maybelline Fit Me concealer is just an all round great concealer and with a reasonable colour selection. I think they have about 6 different colours that seem to favour the lighter to medium toned skins more. It’s good enough for my everyday use and would work well with people who don’t need much coverage.

Product 7.5/10

Pros:

  • Colours matched well with my skin
  • Formula allowed me to easily work the concealer in
  • Thicker consistency allowing better coverage
  • Stays on most of the day but does fade throughout the day

Cons:

  • Would be great if it had better coverage

Packaging 7/10

The packaging for the Fit Me concealer is pretty average and looks very similar to lipgloss tube and even closer to the NARS concealer it dupes. I think I would have liked it better if it were a pump situation so I wouldn’t push air and bacteria from the wand into the product.

Would I buy it again?

I would probably buy this concealer again as it is pretty decent for it’s price point and would work well as an everyday sort of concealer. I wouldn’t settle for this concealer though as I think there’s got to be a more effective one out there for me.

Let me know if you have any comments or questions about this concealer or if you have any recommendations on some more heavy duty coverage concealers that you swear by.

Also, don’t forget to pop by my social media channels to see what I’ve been up to lately!

Instagram @misslindapendent

Twitter @mslindapendent

This entry was posted in: Makeup, Makeup Product Reviews
Tagged with: , ,

by

I'm a Marketing professional by day, blogger by night and a beauty lover 24/7. My perfect day would consist of taking my sweet time putting on makeup, bargain hunting at secondhand markets, trying new cuisines and feeding stray kitties.

8 Comments

What do you think?

