Skincare, Skincare Product Reviews
Comments 4

Review: Sukin Rosehip Oil – Organic Rosehip Face Oil

Sukin Rosehip Oil Packaging Box

If you’re getting to or already at the age where you need to start taking a bit more care of your skin, you might have heard of facial oils.

Facial oils are usually derived from one pure ingredient or mixture of ingredients used instead of or in conjunction with your moisturising routine. Depending on the benefits of the ingredients of your facial oil, you can target various issues you might have with your skin.

Sukin Rosehip Oil Packaging Box

Sukin Rosehip Oil RRP around $25-$30

For this review I’m going to test out the wonderful Sukin Rosehip oil.

The Sukin Rosehip oil is made of pure Rosehip oil which contains fatty acids as omega-3 and vitamin E. The benefits of Rosehip oil is in that it can help speed up the process of regenerating skin cells and damaged skin such as scars, wrinkles and stretch marks.

Sukin Rosehip Oil Packaging Box Close

The benefits of Rosehip oil sound very similar to Bio Oil which is another brand of skin oil. Both Rosehip oil and Bio Oil claim to reduce scarring and stretch marks in a similar way.

However, since the rage of bio oil started a few years back I’ve always had this questionable feeling towards the product because of the ambiguous name. What ingredients can technically fall under the classification of ‘Bio’ to be added into this oil?

Upon a little research I found that they seem to be putting some unnecessarily odd ingredients in it like Paraffinum Liquidum in the mix.

Honestly, read the ingredients list of Bio Oil because it’s quite impressive and not in the good way which is why I chose Sukin’s Rosehip oil. The only ingredient it contains is organic Rosehip oil so unless Sukin is lying to me I can be rest assured that this is the pure stuff and that I’m not rubbing petrol on my face.

Sukin Rosehip Oil Packaging Box1

I personally have quite problematic skin and get a bit oily on some parts of my face like many people out there and it would seem illogical to apply oil to an already oil-prone face. In reality it might actually the opposite for some people as your skin can get oily because it’s not being moisturised enough and so it takes it upon itself to provide the moisture. In this case, the moisture is your ‘oils’.

Although I hadn’t used any facial oils before picking up this one from Sukin, I wanted to reap the benefits that facial oils could possibly give me. Buying this product was basically gambling with my money especially since I chose the LARGE bottle to try.

Was I going to get breakouts? Even oilier skin? I would never know unless I tried.

Sukin Rosehip Oil Bottle

Sukin Rosehip Oil Bottle1
Sukin Rosehip Oil Bottle2

The packaging of the Sukin Rosehip Oil itself is quite normal with a handy dropper to deliver precise amounts of facial oil as needed.

Sukin Rosehip Oil Bottle Dropper

Sukin Rosehip Oil Bottle Dropper1

On an average night I only need 3 drops of Rosehip oil to cover my face – one drop on my forehead and one drop on both sides of my cheeks.

I bought the larger sized bottle and I can tell from the ridiculous amount of product still left in the bottle that it’s going to last me a long long time. This stuff is the epitome of a little goes a long way and it makes me want to praise those who can actually do an empties post on this large bottle.

Sukin Rosehip Oil Swatch on Skin1

The consistency of the Rosehip facial oil is very liquidy and when on my skin it’s something from slippery at the beginning of application to dewy once you’ve allowed a bit of time for it to seep in. The oil smells like warm grass, isn’t really annoying to have on the skin and disappears after a while of having it on.

Sukin Rosehip Oil Swatch on Skin

I usually apply the oil all over my face before bed and sleep with it on over night.

After the first time using it I thought “Holy crap!” and basically made the other half feel my skin (no, feel it properly). When I woke up my face had this gorgeous dewy glow about it and feels a bit softer too.

As for the benefits that this face oil claims to offer, I don’t think I’ve used it quite long enough to see anything happen in the wrinkle department. I have seen a bit of reduction in acne scarring but it isn’t a miracle serum so it doesn’t reduce the hyper pigmentation overnight.

In fact, I’d actually be really scared about the long term effects of the product if it did get rid of scars that quickly. Witchcraft.

That’s all for this review for Sukin’s Rosehip Oil. I really enjoy using this product and would highly recommend it to girls around my age that are starting to take greater care for their skin.

Product 8/10

Pros:

  • A little product goes a long way
  • Doesn’t break me out
  • Doesn’t make my skin more oily
  • Leaves skin very moisturised and dewy

Cons:

  • Might expire before I’m able to finish the bottle
  • The sides of the bottle opening can get a bit messy with dried oil residue

Packaging 10/10

I’ve always had a fascination with brown medicine bottles and glass droppers. The bottle that the Sukin Rosehip oil comes in is sturdy and doesn’t leak but can be easily broken if you drop it. This small glass bottle is totally up my alley as a collectible or a mini vase.

Would I buy it again?

I think I would probably buy a smaller version to keep on hand and try out some other types of facial oils. Perhaps a similar Argan oil or even Marula oil which I heard is good for acne.

Don’t forget to pop by my social media channels to see what I’ve been up to lately!

Instagram @misslindapendent

Twitter @mslindapendent

This entry was posted in: Skincare, Skincare Product Reviews
Tagged with: , ,

by

I'm a Marketing professional by day, blogger by night and a beauty lover 24/7. My perfect day would consist of taking my sweet time putting on makeup, bargain hunting at secondhand markets, trying new cuisines and feeding stray kitties.

4 Comments

What do you think?

