Makeup, Makeup Product Reviews
Comments 8

Review: Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara Waterproof

Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara

Whether you have the most luscious numbers that you could use to fan yourself or difficult straight eyelashes like I do, we can all agree that it can be a bit tricky knowing which mascara does what.

Out of all the types of beauty product I own, mascara is one of the only products that I hardly use. In fact, my impression of mascaras is that they really aren’t that different from each other both in terms of formula or wand and on top of that, they are such a hassle to apply properly. My fellow straight and sparse lashed girls will surely relate to my 10-minute long process of curling my lashes and then apply a couple of coats to try to get a little volume (any volume…please?).

Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara Packing1

Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara – $21.95 at Priceline

I had originally picked up the Lash Sensational mascara as a present for someone else who then told me how good it was. So in the end, I decided to pick up one for myself, especially seeing as my Benefit Real Lash mascara was on its last leg.

Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara Packaging

When buying mascaras I like to keep a few things in mind. Curl holding power is the most important followed by a non-clumping formula and then some length and volume.

On the packaging, the Lash Sensational Waterproof mascara claims to create a full fan effect and provide volume to your lashes. I know they haven’t really claimed anything about staying power but I bought it as a gamble and where my last mascara lacked in curl holding power, I’m hoping Lash Sensational will do great in. *fingers crossed*.

And guys? I think I may have stumbled upon a product that is quite amazing!

Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara Packing2

Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara Ingredients

Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara Ingredients and Directions

Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara Packing3

The packaging of this mascara is a standard chubby tube with an easy to grip tapered handle as seen with all Maybelline’s mascaras (all 100 versions of them) and is an adorable shade of dusty pink lavender. The girly colour and curvy shape make it the perfect addition to my vanity table, thrown in my purse and anywhere to be honest – as evidenced by the fact that it’s taking over of my fellow beauty bloggers pictures on my Instagram feed.

Despite my love for the aesthetics of the packaging, I’m still a bit reserved about the functionality of it. Did they really have to make it so chubby? I’m sure a slimmer tube using less plastic would have been a great idea too. Imagine how much space it’d save in a makeup if it weren’t so chunky?

I, for one, would love to be able to have a lighter makeup bag but with the same amount of products on hand. Anyone else?

Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara1

If you’ve ever tried or even taken a look at the brush wand of the Benefit Real Lash mascara, the Maybelline Lash Sensational mascara wand is quite similar to it in my opinion. They’re both plastic with thin bristles to help separate and comb out the lashes while also getting into the very base of the roots to coat the whole lash length.

As I really enjoyed the natural looking effect of the They’re Real plastic wand I wanted to find something that resembled it without the hefty price tag. They’re Real costs $42 while it’s just $22 for Maybelline’s Lash Sensational. That’s about half of the price so I’d consider that a great deal!

Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara Brush

Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara Brush1

From memory, the two sides of the mascara brush are actually used for different sections of the eyelashes. Look at how cool these close-up shots of the bristles are! You can definitely see how precisely each bristle can get to the lash roots.

The short side of the mascara wand is meant to help get to the bottom lashes while the longer side is used to ‘fan out’ the top lashes. Since I haven’t quite mastered the short side of the brush yet (shaky hands are to blame), I usually stick to the longer side which works great in getting both my top and bottom lashes anyway.

Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara on Asian Eyelashes

1. Eyelashes before I curl them

Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara on Asian Eyelashes1

2. Eyelashes after they’ve been curled

Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara One Coat on Asian Eyelashes2

3. Eyelashes with one coat of Lash Sensational mascara

Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara one coat on Asian Eyelashes

Better view of my eyelashes with one coat

Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara two coats on Asian Eyelashes

4. Eyelashes with two coats of Lash Sensational mascara

Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara two coat on Asian Eyelashes

Close up of eyelashes after two coats

Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara on Asian Eyelashes3

Difference between eye with mascara and eye with no mascara

From the few occasions I’ve worn this mascara, I can wholeheartedly say I am sold. SOLD! Not only did the mascara not transfer and flake off but it also did what I’ve always dreamed a mascara would do. This mascara held the curl! And boy did it hold them!

I was pleasantly surprised with 6+ hours of curly and fluttery lashes and the long-lost mascara shaped jigsaw piece that was missing from my life. ❤

Product 9/10

Pros:

  • Great mascara wand
  • Coats lashes and separates them at the same time
  • Dries relatively quickly – I wait for the first coat to dry while doing the other eye
  • Non-clumping formula
  • Adds a nice amount of length
  • Great curl holding power
  • Doesn’t really smudge due to being waterproof – FYI I did shed a tear or two wearing this while watching a touching scene in a TV show and it stayed on so BONUS POINTS

Cons:

  • Didn’t provide much volume to my lashes
  • Slight alcoholic smell
  • Packaging is a bit more chunky than required

Packaging 7/10

The packaging is an extremely pretty colour and easy to grip in your hands but I wish Maybelline didn’t use so much plastic in their packaging. There’s really no need to make it this chubby to take up excess space in my makeup bag but since I love it so much…I’ll just have to accept it.

Would I buy it again?

100% hell to the yes. I would definitely buy the Lash Sensational mascara again! I’ve worn this mascara several times and I have been wowed every time. In fact, I have to pinch myself each time just to make sure that I’m not dreaming that my eyelashes are really staying up for the first time in my life?!

Thanks for reading everyone and I hope you enjoyed my review/rave about the Lash Sensational mascara!

Don’t forget to drop by my social media channels to see what I’ve been up to.

Instagram @misslindapendent

Twitter @mslindapendent

This entry was posted in: Makeup, Makeup Product Reviews
Tagged with: , , ,

by

I'm a Marketing professional by day, blogger by night and a beauty lover 24/7. My perfect day would consist of taking my sweet time putting on makeup, bargain hunting at secondhand markets, trying new cuisines and feeding stray kitties.

8 Comments

What do you think?

