Skincare, Skincare Product Reviews
Leave a Comment

Review: Cetaphil Dermacontrol Moisturising Lotion SPF30

Putting on sunscreen every morning is a habit that’s easy to look over because it’s just that extra step to the morning routine that ‘I thought’ wasn’t necessary. And I would be very wrong.

Before I review the Cetaphil Dermacontrol Moisturising Lotion, I want to explain the type of skin I have. I relatively oily skin that tend to get bouts of cystic acne and scarring and to make matters worse, I don’t exactly taking care of my spots while they were erupting or while they were on my face.

This might be a really obvious thing to others but I had recently reaslised that one of the important steps to preventing acne scarring is sun protection. Seriously! I’m kicking myself for not realising sooner.

So get this. When those with skin that tans easily (i.e. my god damn olive skinned self), get a new acne spot that starts drying out any sun exposure can actually make the scarring darker. *silent scream*

However, while I need sunscreen to protect my skin from acne scarring, the regular sunscreens on the market make my face break out. So basically finding a sunscreen that doesn’t irritate my skin has basically become my Catch 22.

Cetaphil Dermacontrol Moisturising Lotion spf30 packaging

Cetaphil Dermacontrol moisturiser for oily skin & acne-prone skin

With that challenge in mind, I ducked into Priceline and came out with the Cetaphil Dermacontrol moisturising lotion. From the packaging, the Cetaphil Dermacontrol moisturiser claims that it’s oil-free (good for oily skin), non-acnegenic/comedogenic (suitable for acne-prone skin) and has a decent SPF of 30 (which, in my opinion, should be the bare minimum for all sunscreen products in Australia).

Cetaphil Dermacontrol Moisturising Lotion spf30 benefits

Before I settled on the Cetaphil Dermacontrol moisturiser, I had also considered a few other quite promising moisturisers from other brands but these products all had a mere SPF of 15 or 20. Skincare brands really need to step up their game.

Cetaphil Dermacontrol Moisturising Lotion spf30 bottle

Cetaphil Dermacontrol Moisturising Lotion spf30 ingredients

Cetaphil Dermacontrol Moisturising Lotion spf30 pump

Super handy pump that you can turn and lock

Unlike other sun protecting lotions and moisturisers, the Cetaphil Dermacontrol moisturising lotion has a decent SPF and doesn’t break me out.

The consistency of the Cetaphil Dermacontrol moisturising lotion isn’t too thick or runny but just in between. There’s no annoying or strong perfume scent to the lotion, which is very consistent with Cetaphil’s brand philosophy and a big plus for people with sensitive skin.

Cetaphil Dermacontrol Moisturising Lotion spf30 on skin

Consistency of Cetaphil Dermacontrol

Cetaphil Dermacontrol Moisturising Lotion spf30 swatch

Cetaphil Dermacontrol Moisturising Lotion applied to skin

The moisturising lotion applies very thinly and also settles very nicely on the skin, giving it a thin second-skin type of feeling where it’s moisturised and not matte or powdery.

Cetaphil Dermacontrol Moisturising Lotion spf30 flash

Flash photo of Cetaphil Dermacontrol on skin

I know that with a lot of products that contain SPF, there’s an issue with a weird white cast on the skin that comes out when you use flash photography however I tested this and found very little problems on that front. That deserves bonus points!

However, the Cetaphil Dermacontrol moisturising lotion isn’t a product without faults because it was only later that I realised it was causing me issues. As I wore the moisturising lotion througout the day, my skin began to get oily and the lotion that was around my eyes tends to shift into my eyes causing really painful stinging/crying. 

The whole time I had thought it was because of my foundation and it was only when I wore the lotion by itself on a no-makeup day that I realised it was the culprit.

Mmm, I’m definitely not a big fan of stinging red eyes.

Product 6/10

Pros:

  • Non-greasy application
  • Smooth skin-like finish
  • No perfumed scent
  • Light formula

Cons:

  • Makes my skin produce more oil than usual after a few hours of wear
  • Stings eyes A LOT when lotion gets in them
  • Not waterproof so you can’t really use this as a sunscreen for your face at the beach without having to reply often

Packaging 10/10

  •  Great size bottle
  • Very handy pump dispenser that even locks to prevent any on-the-go accidents

Would I buy it again?

I would probably never purchase this moisturiser again as it irritates my eyes really badly. It’s such a shame because I love other products from the Cetaphil brand. I guess dermatologically tested definitely doesn’t mean it will be entirely safe for every part of your face.

Do you have any recommendations for sunscreen lotions for acne-prone skin?

Thanks for reading guys! You can drop by my social media channels below to see what I’ve been up to.

Instagram @misslindapendent

Twitter @mslindapendent

This entry was posted in: Skincare, Skincare Product Reviews
Tagged with: , ,

by

I'm a Marketing professional by day, blogger by night and a beauty lover 24/7. My perfect day would consist of taking my sweet time putting on makeup, bargain hunting at secondhand markets, trying new cuisines and feeding stray kitties.

What do you think?

